The primer for when you need extra radiance

Extra radiance primer

It’s quite obvious to say that the first step to radiance is a good skincare: deep cleansing, better if with balm and fennel, exfoliating, moisturizing with a serum enriched with natural oils…but talking about make up, there are many products nowadays, which are targeted at primarily boosting radiance. And Benefit That Gal is one that really accomplishes the target on me. If you know me a little, you’ll be aware of the fact that I’m quite skeptical towards primers and if I can skip them in my routine, I feel even better. Having a very sensitive and blemish prone skin, I prefer just one layer of make up. But what happens when I have a party or a dinner after work and there’s no time to re-do my make up? Or whenever I’m having an important meeting and I want to look happy, healthy and beautiful?

Well in all these cases, a radiance-boosting primer could be a solution!

Benefit That Gal is different from all the other primers I’ve ever seen: it’s not in a tube you squeeze, but in a tube you twist at the base, to see the product come out on the top.

Extra radiance primer 2

It’s a pink cream containing pigments and natural extracts of raspberry and chamomile to soothe and brighten the skin. If you’re wondering ‘does it leave a pink trace or a pink coloring?’ the answer is ‘yes, it does’, but a very very soft one.

You can re-apply it during the day, wear it even alone, for a no-make up day, or of course, go on with foundation and powder.

Benefit that gal

The application is very simple: use the fingertips onto the face and blend until it’s perfectly absorbed. It’s a speedy application really: it takes just a few seconds, because the consistency of Benefit That Gal is quite liquid, watery and silky. It sinks wonderfully. And what’s more it doesn’t leave any residues, has no visible sparkles and creates an extremely natural glow. Here’s a further swatch for you.

Benefit that gal swatch

As I said, although being skeptical towards primers, I’ve been surprised by the results of Benefit That Gal, especially because it was not me so say ‘I look radiant today’, but I’ve been said to be more than I usually do. 😉

It’s not by chance, that the product claim is ‘Go from dull to darling’.

Benefit radiance primer

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fall/Winter, Make up, Shopping, Spring/Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The primer for when you need extra radiance

  1. Maria B says:

    On your skin it looks super cute! Xx

  2. natashalouise92 says:

    This product looks fab! Where can i buy it? !

  3. Alessia says:

    Yes, please keep me posted! You know sometimes products which work well on us may not be the same on other women and viceversa, but I really think Benefit, beyond the huge and effective marketing effort delivers high quality. I love their blushes, their brow pencils and now even this primer convinced me. 😉 I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on ‘That gal’!

  4. avibrantday says:

    You’ve got me intrigued by Benefit again… and believe me that that took a lot. I’ve been through many of their products, only to find that the quality and performance just wasn’t there for me. I had basically decided that they sink their money into packaging. This primer swatch looks pretty though, and I can see how it would be lovely on the face. Radiance primers are fantastic!

    • Alessia says:

      To be honest I had a similar feeling when anybody was covering about their pore minimizing primer, as well as their blush Coralista…I haven’t tried much up until now, only a brow pencil and this primer, and I found them both convincing. Packaging and marketing are incredibile, so I guess a great part of what we pay goes into communication…I’m not a great fan of primers, this is probably the second I’m posting to the blog, besides Le Blanc de Chanel, which has more or less the same function, so I’m not the best expert in the field ;-P

  5. Omg I literally just whipped out the samples I have of this bad boy yesterday. I agree with your review. I plan on using this now that I ran out of my Hourglass mineral veil primer.

  6. Jillian says:

    That looks great! I’ll have to try it!

    • Alessia says:

      My advice is to swatch it at the beauty counter and or have the make up artist apply it on you, so that you can be sure that it really works on your complexion as well. Benefit products are usually great, but you know, anybody is different…

  7. brazenrouge says:

    Oooh I want one now. X

  8. gemagikul says:

    I love your blog! It would mean a lot if you checked out mine, I only made it today and it would mean a lot if you checked it out? Keep up the good posts, tollowed:)x

  9. Pingback: Chic February on the shelf | Chic first: an elegant view on beauty, fashion and lifestyle.

Leave a comment