London beauty buys: Charlotte Tilbury

Charlotte Tilbury is launching some of the most gorgeous and best marketed products in the beauty lovers arena at the moment and it is very hard to decide where to start. Packaging, shades, formulas, tips are all great! You may have seen them on Instagram, as well as on the blogs of the most successful UK beauty lovers, because the brand is British.

You guys know that I’m a sucker for high end products, but nevertheless if you’ve never tried anything from Charlotte Tilbury before, as in my case, the very first approach to the brand can be a bit intimidating.

Charlotte Tilbury

I took advantage of a recent business trip to London, to check Charlotte Tilbury‘s beautiful counter at Fenwick in Old Bond Street. The experience was amazing! I’ve been assisted by the best beauty consultant ever! She was extremely polite and helpful in listening to me and providing the needed advice on the best shades or the most interesting products to try. She also applied make up on me, so that I could realize the final look and select my favorite shades not only according to the ‘general directions’ Charlotte Tilbury provides, such as ‘this works for green eyes’, or ‘this is the best matte lipstick’. I really loved it! This approach proved out to be the most successful. Just to make you an example, the eye pencil which was conceived to flatter green eyes, was not actually the best on me. It turned them into very watery and grey, while I wanted the green component to be highlighted. When the Charlotte Tilbury‘s beauty assistant applied that for brown eyes, unexpectedly it let my natural green pop out much more. Incredible! And the same happened with the nude lipstick. I entered Fenwick thinking about a very fair and pink nude in mind and I got out with a brown and far ‘darker’ one.

I was given also some samples of foundation and lipstick. Look at how gorgeous these too look in the pictures below.

 

Matte Revolution Very Victoria lipstick is a soft brown-y nude, which is inspired to the look of Victoria Beckham (here’s why it’s named ‘Very Victoria’). Though providing a mat finish, it doesn’t dry out the lips, thanks to an orchid extract that soothes and hydrates for a velvety and as Charlotte Tilbury herself says ‘cachemire’ effect. The formula has been conceived thanks to her long experience as a make up artist.

Where can you see it?

Charlotte Tilbury Very Victoria

First up in the shape of the stick: which is square, to mimic the lip brush professionals use when applying lipsticks.

Second, in the pigments, because thanks to Charlotte Tilbury’s Matte Revolution lipsticks lips look plumper and enlightened from within.

And the shade #Very Victoria suits all skin tones: I thought it could look too dark on me, but it is surprisingly easy to wear and chic. I’m sure also more olive-toned skin or tanned skin types would look great wearing this lipstick.

Charlotte Tilbury lipstick case

The copper-gold jewel case instantly conveys an idea of luxury and elegance. If I were you, I would take the Charlotte Tilbury‘s wonderful lipsticks as a present for the mom or for a person I really love (sister, best friend, etc..) They look so special!

Coming to the rest of my shopping, I also purchased the Charlotte Tilbury’s Eyeshadow Pencil Color Chameleon in Dark Pearl.

Charlotte Tilbury Chameleon Eyeshadow pencil

It combines the comfortable and velvety sensation of an eyeshadow, with the ease of a pencil. Just one stroke and you’re almost done your eye make up! Wise and fast! Furthermore, unlike other similar products, this is not only intense or sparkling, it’s multidimensional and rich in reflections and effects. As the name itself suggests, it’s a chameleon eye shadow pencil. The Charlotte Tilbury‘s site refers it’s infused with synthetic sapphire, in order to offer the benefits of this mineral in terms of softness and lasting properties. I haven’t checked myself and don’t know about this ingredient, but what I can tell is that it also stays in place all day or night. My eyes are really enhanced, even though this was meant for brown eyes, while mine are green. Probably you’d better check in person as well, because general directions, even in this case, don’t work on anybody.

Charlotte Tilbury swatches

Charlotte Tilbury’s Eyeshadow Pencil Color Chameleon in Dark Pearl is a brown-taupe-mauve shadow, combining the warmth of brown with the shine of silver and the mystery of violet in just one product. Its reflections mirror the complexity and richness of my ever-changing eyes. As someone says, the eyes of cats when they run off.

πŸ˜‰

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fall/Winter, Make up, Season, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to London beauty buys: Charlotte Tilbury

  1. avibrantday says:

    Yay hooray for CT!! I too purchased Very Victoria. I *really* wish that I would have purchased Liberty Love as well. I CANNOT wait until they’re available in the US. Your picks look lovely. Don’t you love her lipstick samples? They work so well. It’s ingenious! They sent me home with a couple also, and I fell in love with Bitch Perfect. I think I’m going to have to splurge. LOL. Thanks for sharing your goodies!

    • Alessia says:

      Hi Jackie, you’re so right! These products are amazing! I’m in love with Very Victoria and I’m glad we share the same shade. Bitch Perfect is in my wish list as well, it will be my next buy, as well as the lip pencil in #Pillow Talk. I’m a great fan of her nudes: all flattering and so beautiful! Can’t you buy CT in the US or do they ship only a limited selection of products?

      • avibrantday says:

        Most of her items are available for purchase in the US, but the Matte Revolution Lipsticks haven’t made it yet 😦 They were supposed to be released this month but they’re pushed back again…
        You’ve got some great picks on your wish list!!

  2. Maria B says:

    That lipstick shade is really gorgeous on you! It’s my favorite from all the products you picked up, but the others are lovely too πŸ˜€ enjoy using them! Xx

  3. Alessia says:

    Thanks Maria, I’m so in love with her products too and this lipstick is amazing: you see it in the case and think it will look definitely too dark or brown, while it really mimics the natural color of the lips and lets eyes pop out. It’s magic!

  4. Alessia says:

    Ok, I hope they will release them soon then! If not, you’ll need to plan a trip to London asap πŸ˜‰

  5. That’s Very Victoria?!😳 I thought it was more of a true brown-ish nude, without these red undertones!
    It looks amazing on you though! I really like it! πŸ‘ŒπŸ˜Œ
    Lots of xx, Annie

    http://www.anniesbeautyblog.com

  6. Mary B says:

    hey, you looks gorgeous in that lipstick:)

  7. Pingback: Chic February on the shelf | Chic first: an elegant view on beauty, fashion and lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

