SKII: Japanese skincare

SKII

The story of the Japanese skincare brand SK II tells that it all started with a brewery where the producers of the traditional sake were old, but not at all old-looking, thanks to the fermentation of sake, whose process liberated a liquid that is used by SK II to produce its luxury treatments for the skin.

Certainly more familiar to the Eastern bloggers and beauty lovers, SK II has been chosen by the worldwide famous and absolutely wonderful Cate Blanchett for her daily routine. To us Western gals though, it’s quite tricky to understand only at first sight and by trusting the Japanese origin, if this brand is really worth or not the big investment.

I discovered personally SK II in Beijing, where the local Sephora has a very beautiful and tempting corner. Of course in China the very spotlight is on radiance and on everything that clears the skin or may have whitening properties. Having no such issues, I looked for something special to nourish and improve skin firmness.

skII

This is why I came out of the shop with a pot ofย  SK II Essential Power Cream in my bag. Despite my initial fears, as you can easily see in the picture I posted above, the cream is not thick, but deliciously fluid. It fades well into the skin and gives a super-comforting sensation.

I use this mostly at nights, whenever I feel my complexion more dull and more dry than usual. My mum says it works amazing on her more mature skin and I too think it’s better to use after 40 years old than before.

HOW TO USE?

After a good cleaning and a spritz of toner, and your usual serum, of course. You don’t need much of as a pearl amount is enough to apply on both face and neck. I don’t massage it too much, as I prefer to work well with oils, rather than with moisturizers. It really lasts ages, since the pot is quite big and it doesn’t run out fast.

The packaging looks beautiful and elegant, but you’re not paying so much for just a pot, right?

๐Ÿ˜‰

skII

So let’s look better inside. Here’s the list of ingredients as reported on the producer’s site:

INGREDIENTS

Aqua/Water/Eau, **Saccharomycopsis Ferment Filtrate, Glycerin, Niacinamide, Isohexadecane, Pentylene Gylcol, Dimethicone, Isopropyl Isostearate, Polyacrylamide, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Acanthopanax Senticosus (Eleuthero) Root Extract, Cynara Scolymus (Artichoke) Leaf Extract, Sodiu, PEG-7 Olive Oil Carboxylate, Sucrose Polycottonseedate, Panthenol, Dimethiconol, Methicone, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Methylsilanol Tri-PEG-8 Glyceryl Cocoate, Behenyl Alcohol, Benzyl Alcohol.

I’m not repurchasing this soon, but I’ve been glad to try something so special. Thumbs up for the quality: it’s a superior cream!

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fall/Winter, Season, Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SKII: Japanese skincare

  1. I always heard of SK II but I never tried it because it was so expensive! Plus I have sensitive skin, so I am very cautious of what I put on my face. Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. I’ve had a travel set with SKII products and the ones I loved the most and saw instant results from were the sheet masks! ๐Ÿ˜Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ Great line indeed! But not easily available here ( as it happens with most of the great items I have on my wish list ๐Ÿ˜… )
    Have a great week lovely!
    Annie,

    http://www.anniesbeautyblog.com

  3. Alessia says:

    Hi Annie! True, it’s very difficult for us in Europe to retrieve these godies: I wish they shipped to our countries too, but at reasonable prices…I haven’t tried the masks, but I bet they’re great.Travel sets and special kits offer quite offen a superior quality. Have a nice week yoo too!

  4. Pingback: Winter skincare | Chic first: an elegant view on beauty, fashion and lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

