The Me-Time tag

IMG_3143

While giving a look at the last updates on Netflix, and commenting on the ‘Me-time’ post, the lovely Jess asked me to join the tag, publishing my personal preferences/habits on this topic. Thanks a lot Jess! And here are the beautiful blogs I’d like to pass this tag forward, as I’m pretty sure their authors will recommend wonderful products.

Annies beauty blog

A vibrant day

Jan and Jot

My Closet it full

Reify love

Talker blogger

The tag is quite long to read, although I tried to keep short and straight-forward in my replies. So if you haven’t got the time now, get back afterwards. But if you’ve ten-twelve minutes to check the whole edit, I’m sure you’ll enjoy the post. So let’s get started!


 

What do you wear during me-time?

Well, my first rule to relax is to get out of my 12 cm heels, boots, sneakers or whatever. So, I’m barefoot. Second rule, is to wear a silken long robe, as it feels soft and luxurious at the same time.

What are your me-time beauty products?

Usually me-time coincides with the weekend or the late evening: the best moment of the week when you can treat yourself to a good face mask. I don’t do many hydrating treatments, as my skin at the moment tends to be very reactive and blemish prone. My most recommended product is Elemental Herbology Facial Detox Purifying mask.

I then indulge to do a manicure at home, taking good care of both nails and skin.


IMG_3146

Current favourite nail polish?

It’s still a classic ruby red from Dior, to which I alternate a pink nude from L’Oréal. Two big opposites I know, but this is very frequent here.


What do you eat/drink during me-time? 

It really depends on the moment of the day, but if it’s in the late evening, I enjoy a good glass of Italian wine, better if opened while cooking, usually fish. I put a playlist in the background and the job is done. In the other moments of the day, I drink tea and eat lots of fruit, both fresh and dried. Like a little hamster, I crunch almonds and hazelnuts, but I’m also addicted to raspberries and strawberries.


Schermata 2014-12-22 alle 18.40.08

Current favourite candle?

Easy! Esteban Neroli.


Do you ever have outdoor me-time? 

Sure. Whenever I train for the marathon or I go to the hairdresser. I like spa treatments too.


Would you ever go see a movie alone?

Yeah, why shouldn’t I? Cinema is probably the less sociable activity of all. You must keep silent for all the time and this allows you to enjoy the film even better alone than with somebody next to you.


Favorite online stores? I could recommend a huge list, but considering only those which ship internationally, the list reduced a lot (luckily/ unluckily). I grouped them according to the category:

Beauty – Cult Beauty: because their shipping are always in time and the offering is interesting and luxurious. Beautybay,whose orders take ages to arrive, but offers a good balance between brands I like and affordable prices, Feelunique, more convenient than the previous two, yet always in a late as regards deliveries. Sephora, but I rarely buy online, because I prefer to enter their store not far from my office, although the Italian Sephora doesn’t sell the same brands as the international sites/shops. (It’s so unfair).

Books – Amazon of course, even though, I’m still one of the last people in the world who like to buy their books in the small shops in town.

Fashion – I’m not a huge fan of online fashion stores, because sizes are very tricky for me and I love to touch fabrics and check details in person: seams, buttons, pockets, trimmings, lining…If I had to suggest any online stores, my preferences would go to A.P.C. a French brand I discovered last year, which I love for the minimal and super-chic aesthetics. Max&Co,an Italian brand, part of the famous and successful Max Mara world: offers a quite pricey, but high quality product range, with a little rétro and extremely chic taste; Yoox when it comes to shoes: their brands meet my taste far better than anybody else and returns/refunds policies are efficient, fast and straight-forward.  Zara it’s so worldwide famous, I think I don’t need to add words about them.

Food & drink – Online I only buy wine, teas and spices. The best wine shop you can find is in my opinion Callmewine: Paolo, the founder is a good friend of mine and a very sociable, nice and professional person. His wines have always something special that makes them striking: poetry. Is this a good reason to buy?

Travel – Airbnb it’s more than a place to book a place where to stay. It’s a revolutionary travel experience, which connects people to other people and their houses. If you’ve never tried it, I strongly recommend a go. If it will not change the way you approach holidays, it will be in any case something different you’ve lived.

Misc – Etsy again, as the latter, a new shopping experience, which connects us all to the makers and to the people behind objects and products. You can find jewels, rétro objects, printings, accessories for the house, stationery and much more. What I like the most, besides the fact you can directly communicate to the producers and runners of the online shops is the possibility to customize objects with a message, with a decoration, with something that makes items different and unique.


Anything to add? What else do you do during me-time? 

Sure! I switch off any mobile phones, laptop and electronic devices and listen to music to stay connected with myself. Although my playlists feature several different genres of music, the most appropriate to relax is for me the mystic music of Middle Ages.

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fall/Winter, Lifestyle, Season, Skin care and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Me-Time tag

  1. janandjot says:

    Thank you so much Alessia for the tag!! I loved reading your answers and have similar ones but will save to answer on the post 😃 That really stinks that the Sephora isn’t the same there as it is here 😔 because I also like seeing things in person then order online for the extra samples and gifts they give, have a great weekend! ❤️ Janet

  2. Belinda says:

    This was so inserting to read! New follower here. Loved getting to know you a bit 🙂

  3. Alessia says:

    Thanks Janet, Have a nice weekend too! I’m happy you liked the tag and I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts and beautiful suggestions. 😍💅💄👛 cheers!

  4. Aww! Thank you so much lovely for the tag! I really enjoyed reading your answers and I will definitely do it asap! 😊
    Have a great weekend!
    Lots of xx

    • Alessia says:

      Hi Annie! I’ve just seen you tagged me as well to do a post about old products! I’ll be covering the topic soon, and it will be ah occasion to tidy up things and remember about past purchases. Thanks a lot! I’m looking forward to reading your answers too!

      • Haha! That’s right! Spring cleaning is also a good way of combating the blues! 😁 I can’t wait to read about your oldest makeup bits!
        I hope you have fun writing it as much as I did! 😊
        Lots of xx

  5. avibrantday says:

    First, thank you for nominating me! This is an apt nomination, as it will encourage me to take better care of myself now that school is over and I have an opportunity to build new, healthier routines.
    I loved reading your answers — beautiful products, lovely rituals, and the richness of life over flowing from all corners of your life. You’re an inspiration.

  6. Lovely post to read ..!! Pretty inique i must say … I will try to work on it , but ifi may not be able to it will be bring busy handling 2 kids and trying to find a job …

Leave a Reply

