Cooking weekend

cooking weekend

Weekends for me mean cooking at home and relaxing with my parents and friends, especially for the Sunday lunch.

Don’t worry, it’s not a total stop from fashion and beauty, given that food cooking and styling require in any case a certain state of mind. And perhaps things I can give for granted could help some of you to improve your lives and days. So why not sharing what I know here and there about cooking and eating?

I know, I know, most of you may think we Italians spend our lives cooking and eating wonderful but super-complex traditional recipes. But I can assure you, we aren’t all foodies. As well as we aren’t all pasta-makers and great pasta eaters, for instance. And the same is for pizza. Just to make two popular examples.

Usually the time when we cook our meals at home coincides with the weekends or the evenings with friends. The pleasure of a dinner at home with whom you love is undeniable!

As regards me, I prefer to prepare desserts and cakes, although I love to eat savory dishes rather than sweet ones. A bit strange, I know…

But given that desserts are far more complex than a dish of pasta, today I’ll tell you five little secrets to prepare a delicious one.

  1. Select the best sources – which means high-quality pasta, but also organic extra-virgin olive oil, herbs (usually basil, but also oregano and marjoram could taste nice) and tomatoes. The best tomatoes to prepare the dressing are the smallest ones.
  2. Boil your pasta and prepare the dressing separately – It is a golden rule. The mixture of the two is allowed only at the very end of the process, which is of course the dressing stage.
  3. Don’t overcook – pasta shouldn’t taste creamy, but a little raw and the secret to have it fragrant and perfect is to remove it from the boiling water 1 minute or 2 before what the packaging says. If you didn’t do that in time, don’t worry, there’s a last time tip you can use, which is to refresh it under cold water, to stop the heating process.
  4. Try with handmade dried tomatoes – The so-called ‘confit’ or caramelized tomatoes. Heat the oven at 302°F or 150°C and cut the tomatoes in halves, put them on a baking tray with olive oil, sugar, pepper and herbs. Don’t cook the basil, but use it fresh! Skip salt, because it will make tomatoes drain all the water, resulting in a disgusting baby-food-like mush. Let the tomatoes dry in the oven for at least 40 minutes, than remove them from the baking tray and mix them with the cooked, drained pasta.
  5. Don’t mix tomatoes and cheese – The two together produce a chemical reaction that makes the pasta result really indigestible. To exalt the taste of the tomatoes dressing, don’t add anything else. Less is more! Always.

 

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cooking weekend

  1. I miss a good Italian home made pasta dish! 😌
    Have a great Sunday my lovely lady!
    Lots of xx, Annie

    http://www.anniesbeautyblog.com

  2. Alessia says:

    Hi Annie, thanks for stopping by, I hope you’re enjoying your weekend. I’m spending mine in the bed, as I came back from London a bit tired and sick. But I’m so glad I luckily shopped my first CT’s items….thanks a lot once again for your kind suggestions! A dedicated post will follow soon….

  3. avibrantday says:

    Yum! Your photo has made me even hungrier…
    Great tips, and we share something in common. I, too, prefer to cook desserts and cakes over savory meals. Luckily, I married a damn (excuse my French) good cook. His mother was an excellent at French cuisine, and Andy loved to help out in the kitchen. It also helped that he spent a year in Italy during college. ;o) YUM!!!

  4. Alessia says:

    Wow, you’re very lucky! To marry a man who loves to cook is a blessing, in my opinion. Most of Italian men are good cookers too, especially nowadays, when we all get married quite late and spend at least 10-15 days living by ourselves…French cuisine is also very fascinating, you’ll never imagine, I ate French in London at least twice in two nice places…ah I’m so sorry it passed so soon…

  5. nike air max says:

    Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Superb choice
    of colors!

Leave a Reply

