What’s the signature of a lady?

Signature of a lady_1

I don’t know you, but I’ve been often made this question. And quite mysteriously the answer has been changing over the years, together with me, my habits, my preferences. During my childhood, probably because I stared at my mom’s heels totally enchanted, I would have replied ‘her elegant shoes‘. During the ’80ies women had gorgeous shoes at their feet: colorful decollete, as well as classic black pumps with metal heels and details, knee high boots, sexy sandals…

Some years later, my answer would have been ‘lipstick‘. Why so? Because I couldn’t wear make up at that time. Nor heels, to be honest, but lipstick was something I wasn’t allowed to wear, but still looked so pretty and desirable to my eyes. At a later stage the lady’s signature in my mind started to be ‘her fragrance‘. Passing from ‘what I cannot wear’ to ‘only what I can wear’.

Today, my answer would probably involve all the previous items and none of them in particular. The signature of a lady lies in her soul, in her style and taste, which involve of course, shoes, make up, fragrance, as well as they involve scarves, coats, boots, or whatever garments…

Again, what if I had to pick up only an item to sign my days (and mostly nights!) and leave at home all the rest, or decide which embodies better than ever the true signature? ‘High heels and the right posture’. Without the right posture, we’re all only bearer of clothes and accessories. And because high heels have the power to make a person feel more self-confident and self-conscious. They expose your body, pushing your physical boundaries to the edges between balance and fall-out, between control and loss of control, between motion and stillness. Paradoxically, the more you’re insecure, the more you’re powerful.

What’s the item that really makes the difference, in your opinion, between a lady and the rest of the world?

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fall/Winter, Fashion, Fragrance, Make up, My looks, Season and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s the signature of a lady?

  1. to answer your last question, I would say definitely the attitude! a woman might not be remembered by the perfume she wears, the lipstick she wears or how red her lips are at a certain point… but her attitude would definitely be remembered!… πŸ™‚ xx

    • Alessia says:

      I agree, Annie! But if you had to mention a beauty item, which one would you choose?

      • definitely perfume! simply because it’s so difficult to find a signature scent! at least for me it was! as for makeup, it’s easier to find today one lipstick and to like it soooo much and next week to fine another one just as beautiful as the precedent! haha! πŸ˜‰ xx

  2. avibrantday says:

    This is a lovely idea to ponder.
    I loved your descriptions of your evolving answers to this question (especially the one about high heels β€” very poetic). I agree that the 1980s were a time of flare, and it was a great decade to be a young girl watching the mature beauties enjoy their feminine details. It was definitely a time for embracing femininity, something that waned to a degree in the 1990s.
    Hmmm… I like both your and Annie’s answers to this question. I guess I would add intellect to the mix as well. A woman who embraces her femininity, has a memorable attitude, and is an intellect is a woman to be reckoned with!

  3. avibrantday says:

    Oh, and as for a beauty item… If I had to pick one, I guess (at this moment in time) I would pick high heels, and it would be along the same line of thinking that you wrote about. :o)

  4. Pingback: “The Oldest” in my collection… Tag | annie's beauty...

Leave a Reply

