En plein air

en plein air

In line with Pantone’s 2015 color mood for spring, which has been poetically labelled ‘En plein air‘, last Christmas I bought as a present for my mother this wonderful 5 Couleurs palette from Dior. The shades combination is called CarrΓ© Bleu #276 and features four aquatic blues and an extremely bright champagne-y white, which you can either mix to the others, or apply alone, under the brow arch, for instance, to brighten up the look.

An eclectic, ethereal mix of understated brights, pale pastels and nature-like neutrals take center stage as designers draw from daydreams of simpler times.Remembrances of retro delights, folkloric and floral art, and the magical worlds of tropical landscapes restore a sense of well-being as we head into warmer months.

This is how the color mood has been introduced.

There’s the strong, reliable, classic blue, which is the perfect color for a gentleman’s tie, suit or watch. There’s the ethereal aquamarine, which looks exquisite on an evening dress, as well as in the jewels at the neck of a lady. There’s the scuba blue, which reminds of ocean waters, of the feathers of a tropical bird, or of precious stones brought from South America. And there’s the peacefully relaxing glacier gray: needless to say, more dominant for men than women.

Last year we all went crazy for eye sets and at every corner of the world, beauty brands have been launching something interesting in this category. Most of us have been buying a UD Naked palette, somebody else discovered Charlotte Tilbury, or Bobbi Brown, but you know, I think they’re all great for nude-neutrals-pink palettes, but as regards watery colors, the French have still much more to say.

Have a look:

en plein air

Blue smokey eyes are a passepartout. They look fantastic on pale complexions, as well as on golden skin tones. They enhance green/blue eyes, but also brown and hazel ones. Being not a make up artist, I cannot show you how/why, but if you check online, you’ll certainly find something inspiring.

 

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Beauty, Fall/Winter, Make up, My looks, Season and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to En plein air

  1. janandjot says:

    Such a beautiful palette! I almost bought Trafalgar 876 but waited until a new year started so it could go towards my Sephora points. Dior has such gorgeous palettes I hope to get one soon πŸ™‚ Janet

  2. Alessia says:

    Hi Janet and thanks for stopping by. I’ve seen Trafalgar 876, but sincerely, as I like red bold lips in winter, I was wondering how to wear red eyes on red lips and white complexion without looking like a vampire…I know they’re cool nowadays, but probably not my typical ‘everyday look’…so I went for a more classic neutrals combination. It’s always nice to use the Sephora points, you feel less guilty when getting out of the shop with something special in the shopping bag. πŸ˜‰

    • janandjot says:

      Yeah I was thinking the same thing, that might be a lot of red lolol But since I don’t own any red eyeshadow I figured I might give it a shot πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to go shopping and play to pick the right one ❀

  3. I love the new Dior Eyeshadow quints so much. Shame i already have blue eyes because this one looks gorgeous but it would be overkill on my eyes. Great post hun x

    • Alessia says:

      Hello lady, thanks for your comment. You’re absolutely true, blue on blue is too much, but I’ve seen you managed to find out the perfect combination for you too, thanks to the Christmas limited editions, isn’t it? I hope you’re having a nice day

      • Yes i love Dior Golden Reflections. It is lovely on. I wish i could wear blue. I do wear navy blue in socket with peach shade across lid and that works really well.

  4. wondersreviews says:

    This blue is so pretty !

  5. Dior did an amazing job with these quads last year! I have yet to decide on a favourite though! 😁
    Lots of xx

    Annie,

    http://www.anniesbeautyblog.com

    • Alessia says:

      In terms of hues, they’re still ruling. Quite tough to select only one, especially because the combination that suits better may not be the one we like the most at first sight…

      • I couldn’t agree more lovely! That’s why I’m always entering Sephora with a firm intention of a certain purchase in mind and I end up buying a different one… or ones most times! πŸ™ˆπŸ™Š Haha!
        Lots of xx

  6. What beautiful colours – lovely palette!

  7. avibrantday says:

    This is a beautiful palette!! I’d love to see it in action (hint, hint). πŸ˜‰
    You have me thinking about how blue is a universal color. The color can inspire many moods, but I guess it’s the playfulness this color inspires that is most interesting to me.
    Thanks for sharing this lovely palette. Hugs ☺️

    • Alessia says:

      I didn’t know how flexible blue can be either, until I watched a beauty tutorial on TV and the make up artist did an evening look on a very Mediterranean looking woman. On her blue enhanced the dark eyes, while providing that extra-twist. My mom too, who’s a typically pale blondie with green eyes adores blue make up and sincerely I find it’s the color that suits her best. You should try as well, whenever you’re in the mood to dare a pop of color…I’m sharing something soon to show how these beautiful eye shadows look like and again, the quality is incredible. Lots of hugs.

Leave a Reply

