Chic drugstore/cheap make up tag

drugstore

So it seems like I’ve been recently tagged by the lovely Marilyn to do the drugstore/cheap make up post…Wow, it’s my first tag, so let’s see how it goes and thanks everyone in advance for reading it. I hope you will find it useful to your makeup routines and/or you next drugstore hauls. Thanks Marilyn, for mentioning me in your post! 🙂

So let’s get started!

1. What is your favorite drugstore/cheap makeup brand overall?

I’d mention two: Revlon and Kiko. The first is not super cheap, but very well performing and available worldwide or so. Kiko is instead the cheapest brand ever for me, so it’s perfect for a no-regrets self-pamper purchase. And I must admit, I get quite often into a similar kind of purchase. 🙂

2. What are your favorite face, cheek and lip products?

Due to my super-sensitive and blemish-prone complexion, I haven’t got a full and well equipped drugstore make up collection. So I must skip the “face product” category, since I have no favorites here.

Revlon-Powder-Blush

Blushes – I’m so in love with Revlon Powder blushes: easy to blend, smooth and lovely. I bought the shades #602 Camaleon and #206 Little beige dress for my recent name day celebration and since then they’re my current favorite product for the cheeks.

Labello-teaser-Beiersdorf

Lip productsBeiersdorf Labello lip balm: it gives my lips that “something extra” feeling I always need. It’s a classic, I know, and perhaps I love it because its delicate smell remembers me of childhood. My mom used to apply a coat of Labello every morning before I got out of home, to protect my lips from wind or bad weather and it tasted so good!

3. Least favorite product?

eau-de-teint

L’Oréal Nude Magic Eau de Teint. It’s a liquid foundation with very light coverage. I dislike both its formula full of silicons and the packaging: it’s so uncomfortable to use a foundation with no pump / doser…! Very bad product for me!

4. What is the best makeup bargain?

color-riche-ombre-pure-602-plum-de-paon

L’Oréal Color Riche Pure eye shadows. Surprised about this mention? Well, I have nothing against a particular brand, and to me the formula is king. As regards these eye shadow, they stay untouched even in summer, the packaging is compact and highly portable, all the range looks amazing, the price is affordable. Definitely a good bargain!

5. What is your favorite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)

244057_big_241976

Pupa Multiplay Eye pencil– Perhaps not distributed everywhere (what a pity, I know!) I usually buy them in Italy, perhaps you can check online or through the customer service, to know more about shipping and availability. Coming to the product….these eye pencils are conceived in such beautiful colors, that you’ll find at least one you like. I love them because they stay untouched all the day long and what’s more, when I remove it in the evening, my eyes don’t get irritated. You can apply these pencils as liners, or buffer them with both finger tips or brush for a softer, smokey eye look.

6. A drugstore product that is overpriced?

essie

Essie nail polishes.

7. Show your best drugstore dupe(s)!!

Schermata 2014-07-21 alle 18.17.02

I’m not that much into the dupe’s business in the sense that to me, to be sure something can offer the same quality as a high end product, you need to use that high end product first, so then, why to look for something else, if you’re satisfied, risking to be disappointed by the dupe and loose money? By chance, I discovered a dupe of Benefits lip balms, though, which is Kiko Kiss balm. Have a look at the packaging and you’ll remember the Benefit‘s dotted one. This is light, hydrating and fruity. But the good news is that it costs three times less than Benefit. Cool, isn’t it?

8. Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype?

Essie nail polishes. Everyone is blogging about them, I know, but to me this big hype is totally exaggerated. I tried a few shades, but the darkest colors need at least three coats to look smooth and even and they don’t last as long as one could expect. At the same price there’s much better around.

I pass the tag forward to these babes:

Look beyond beauty

Relevant beauty ideas

Annie’s beauty

A vibrant day

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Beauty, Make up, Spring/Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chic drugstore/cheap make up tag

  1. Mammu says:

    You did a great job with this tag, I loved all the answers. Plus I’m always glad to hear/read people raving about Kiko since the brand has a special place in my heart ^.^

  2. awesome picks 🙂 I really want to try Kiko makeup, they look fab!! xo

    • Alessia says:

      If I had to suggest something, it would be for sure either a nail polish or a lip product. Sometimes they’re not that much long-lasting, especially the eye shadows, but the range is very very wide and they come out with new launches very often. So that sooner or later you’ll find something you’ll fall in love with. I also have an eye pencils series to recommend: they’re highly pigmented and very beautiful. Looking forward to hearing your impressions on Kiko as well. Cheers!

  3. I really enjoy reading this tag 🙂 I know how you feel when it comes to drugstore foundations, I just can’t find one that works for my sensitive skin either. Plus it doesn’t help that I am super super pale and drugstore base products often don’t run light enough. I actually own a Pupa eyeliner also (and I live in Australia), not entirely sure where I acquired it, but it is lovely!

    • Alessia says:

      Hi and nice to meet you! Same problem here, I’m super pale and sometimes it’s not that easy to find a foundation or a BB cream that doesn’t create bad stains, in my case I also have a pink undertone which makes things even more complex, as the starting point here in Europe is usually a beige or so…I remember the only drugstore product I could use a long time ago was from Max Factor and it was called Color adapt or something…and the “cream ivory” was the right one for me. Nowadays, as my skin is more sensitized and dry, most of the times I’m also checking the INCI, to see if products are really gentle. Thanks for your comment!

  4. Pingback: C’est Bon Marché: Bioré Self Heating One Minute Mask + Chic Drugstore Tag | A Vibrant Day

Leave a Reply

