Chic spring brights

chic spring brights

In springtime any occasion is a good excuse to bring out a pink lipbalm, a bright eyeshadows palette as well as a light tinted moisturizer. This weekend here in Italy we will have a bank holiday, celebrating on Monday the birth of the Republic after the Second World War. As I’ll be out of home for the whole time, I arranged a beauty bag with a few make up products I can’t do without. Since you’ve already seen my make up selection here, I will not be doubling the items.

The first product I selected is Clinique Liquid Facial Soap Mild

After many years of foaming and purifying face cleansers, I think my skin got enough and now it is reacting too much to any aggressive washers. My program is now to stop using foaming products and turn to organic and gentle cleansers and for the moment I’ve found what I was looking for in this liquid facial soap from Clinique. Every morning in the shower, I lather the palms of the hands and wash both face and neck. I massage evenly, as if I was applying a moisturizer, with wide motions all over the face and throat, but I don’t rub too much. What I love is the fact it leaves theย skin not taut or dry in the end. And you know what? I haven’t been experiencing any more break outs!

Since I will join my friends to a music concert these days, I’m sure some makeup will be needed. My secret weapon will be Make Up Fovever HD Microperfecting Primer I tried it for the first time in 2013 and since then the pot is still quite full. You know I’ve been using also Le Blanc de Chanel, but to be honest, I’m not a great supporters of primers applied everyday. For those always in front of a camera, of course, they’re a matter of life, but to me, if your moisturizer is brilliant enough, there’s no particular need to add layers and layers of chemicals on the face. Apart from special occasions, of course. Or whenever you need a special help to let your makeup last longer. I like Make Up Forever’s primer since it’s not at all heavy or greasy. Just one pump of the product is enough for the whole face and it dries in a moment. Fantastic when you’re rushing out of home or the climate outside is getting hotter and hotter!

To give my face an healthy color, I picked up Dior Hydra Life Pro Youth Skin Tint in the shade 1 which is called “Cream” and is a light beige for fair to light complexions. Finding an alternative to the foundation has become very interesting, I must admit. So many options among BB creams, CC creams, tinted moisturizers, no-foundation foundations, magic creams and whatever. Since I’m getting crazy in the fight against dangerous chemicals, this product was a good choice, for its long list of “without”.

It is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Synthetic Fragrances
– Synthetic Dyes
– Petro-Chemicals
– Phthalates
– GMOs
– Triclosan

Fantastic! A bit expensive, as most of Dior make up, so I’m sure I will look for something cheaper quite soon.

For the cheeks, sometimes it’s so hard to find a brush in pocket size, that works well with the blush. Actually a good compromise between professional tools and very cheap ones is The Body Shop Blusher Brush I love it because it’s cruelty-free, since no animals were killed to produce it, but it doesn’t loose softness when washed. And furthermore, the size is right for my beauty bag.

Talking about brushes, for the moment, I’m equipped with Sephora Collection Classic must have smudge brush #70 and Sephora Collection Classic Crease Shadow Brush #73 I can’t say they’re the best brushes on the market, but a good starting point.

On the eyes, I’m absolutely in love with Diorshow mascaras. They’re such a wonderful collection, no matter the particular exigence of your lashes. There are different formulas to thicken, curve, elongate, dramatically emphasize your lashes and eyes, as well as to simply define them in a chic classic way. My eyes are very big and my lashes so long and thick tend to be glued by mascaras. It’s such an uncomfortable sensation! Having your eyes red quite soon and feeling that itch all the day long! With Dior all this doesn’t happen. The last one bought is Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Mascara black. Absolutely must have product!

In springtime I tend to feel bored of black lines all around the eyes. Perhaps because I apply kajal, pencils and liquid eyeliners almost everyday from September to May. So this weekend I’m trying something else. As this is the year of orchids shades, I put in the beauty bag a palette from Mac with four amazing eye shadows you can either combine all together for a more sophisticated look, or apply one by one. I’ve seen they’re coming up with a beautiful set called Pink Freeze which is similar to mine, a bit old a think, as I bought it one year ago. An other useful product for the eyes I’m taking with me is Kiko Infinity Eyeshadow in the color 254 Golden Cream + case which is equipped with a mirror.ย You know when you’re out of home having a mirror in your bag is always useful to any retouches ๐Ÿ˜‰

Last, don’t forget the lips!

My personal recommendation is Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Color Balm in the color chunky cherry.So much copied by other brands and drugstore cheap products, this is an other make up must-have. Soft, long-lasting, chic, easy, it doesn’t stick, it’s not shiny and is available in a wonderful collection of different colors, which I find suitable to almost any skin color. If your complexion is still untouched by the sun, as mine, a rich pinky shade will be the best to let lips look sexy.ย  I also like the scent, which is soft and delicate as well.

And what about you? Do you have something in particular to recommend before the month is over? In case, let me know.

Wishing you all a fantastic weekend!

 

 

 

 

About Alessia

Communication consultant, PR, beauty and food blogger, marathon runner, not in this order
This entry was posted in Beauty, Season, Shopping, Spring/Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chic spring brights

  1. alifemoment says:

    Loved the products! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Chic orchid |

Leave a Reply

